Have you created a new LinkedIn account, not realizing that you had one already… or maybe you couldn’t remember the password to your LinkedIn account and no longer had access to the email you used when you first created your profile? Perhaps you recently discovered that old profile exists and many people probably think you are the same company you were years ago. How do you close that old account and get people to connect with you on your active account?

LinkedIn has a way to solve this problem. You can read their full solution here: http://help.linkedin.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/1275

How to find and close a duplicate account:

Step 1 – Find your other account(s): search for your name on LinkedIn. From your search results:

  • The profile with the You icon is the account where you’re currently signed in.
  • A profile containing your information that doesn’t have a You icon is a duplicate account.

Step 2 – Sign in to the account you want to close. If you can’t remember your password, click the Forgot Password? link.

  • Make a note of any connections that are missing from the account you plan to keep so you can re-invite them from your other account.

Step 3 – IMPORTANT: Make sure you’re signed in to the account you want to close and then close your account.

If you have problems signing in to your duplicate account, contact us with the following information:

  • The URL for the profile you want to remove (e.g. http://www.linkedin.com/abc123).
  • The email address(es) associated with that account.
  • Your name as it appears on LinkedIn, and any alternate names you may have used.

linkedin-iconNow that you’ve gone through this process… please make sure that on active LinkedIn account you have two email addresses listed. If you only have a work email listed or the one your Internet Service Provider gives you consider opening a Gmail account that will be forever be yours!